Cognitive Semiotics
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Troubleshooting and general tips

2 posters

Go down

Troubleshooting and general tips Empty Troubleshooting and general tips

Post by Santiak Fri Apr 01, 2016 10:58 pm

Heyho folks,

First and foremost, this first post is a general disclaimer: Silly me didn't know/realize/notice that Katrin and Riccardo had made a walkthrough for the report, so my own report is more or less homebrewed, for which reason I can't say with certainty that my 'methods' are correct; however, so long as they get the job done, I do think you can use them if need be.

Secondly, I'm also rather new to coding in R - my only previous experience is with Basic (or C++), which is a generalized coding language - more or less considered the "latin" of coding, in so far that if you know a bit of C++, you know a bit of everything (but of course that doesn't mean you can speak everything in the slightest). As such, there is very likely much more elegant and easy ways to go about getting the results than the suggestions I can offer, albeit that is more or less the nature of the beast that is coding.

Thirdly, I try to steer clear of having to install additional libraries, call me a hipster in those regards, but I'd rather learn the basics than rely too heavily on libraries, which is a very silly and stupid thing to do, because they can make your life much, much easier - a good example is renaming columns in a dataframe.
With a library called "plyr", it becomes as easy as:
plyr wrote:
rename(DataSet, c("column1"="newname1", "column2"="newname2")

Without, it's a bit messier:
you probably haven't heard of it wrote:
names(MeanAll) <- c("Newname1", "Newname2")
Which might seem less messy, but if you look closely at the code, you'll notice I'm assigning new values to the dataframe (<-), and that I have to name the columns in order, or use an alternate code to rename individual columns.